ACCESS SERVICES

The Access Initiatives team coordinates services to provide support for students who are facing educational, life, and career transitions. The team works closely with Student Services faculty and staff to help individuals create clearer pathways to success at UCFV.

Director: Wendy Watson; phone: 604-864-4614; e-mail: watsonw@ufv.ca; fax: 604-855-7614

Staff: Debbie Dyck, Access Services Assistant; phone: 604-864-4653; e-mail: dyckd@ufv.ca; fax: 604-855-7614

Assessment Services

Assessment Services provides the right fit between our students and their educational goals. Services include diagnostic assessments referred by Disability Services, placement tests, invigilations for external organizations, and prior learning assessment and recognition (PLAR).

Coordinator: Jill Harrison, BA (SFU); 604-557-4006; e-mail: harrisonj@ufv.ca

Assessment/Learning Specialist: John Vavrik, PhD (UBC);

Phone: 604-557-4033

Disability Services

UCFV is committed to the integration of students with disabilities into its courses and programs. We encourage independence while providing services to students with disabilities who may require additional support in order to achieve their educational goals. We are student-centered and focus on abilities. Access advisors are available to arrange support services such as classroom and exam accommodation, and to act as resource people and liaisons between the student, faculty and staff, and internal and external agencies.

Services available

Equipment available

How to receive services

Call an access advisor at any one of the campuses to arrange for an information session to see if any of the services we have to offer may be of some assistance to you. Access advisors are available 9 am–4 pm, Monday to Friday.

Access advisors

Abbotsford: 604-557-4034 or 604-864-4609; fax: 604-855-7614
Ellen Dixon, BA (Reed), MLS (UC–Berkeley), e-mail: dixone@ufv.ca
Carla Petker, BA (Hons) UVic, Instructor’s Diploma (VCC); e-mail: petkerc@ufv.ca

Chilliwack: 604-795-2843; fax: 604-792-2388
Alyson Seale, Dip. Visual Language Interpreter (Douglas); e-mail: sealea@ufv.ca

Mission: 604-820-6000; fax: 604-826-0681

Assessment Services office: 604-557-4006


Back to General Information index
Calendar home page/index