Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree
Faculty and Staff

Janelle Baerg          BScN, MPH & TM, EMDM

Position:                  Year 3 Nursing Faculty Member

E-Mail:                      janelle.baerg@ufv.ca

Phone:                     604-792-0225

Classroom teaching focus: 

Situational transition, labs, palliative care, wound care

Clinical teaching focus: 

Medical/Palliative and home care


Renette Aubin Boisclair  RN, BScN, MN

Position:   Year 3 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   renette.boisclair@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2259

 
Classroom teaching focus:
Psychiatric theory

Clinical teaching focus:
Psychiatry, Year 1 consolidation (spring)

Professional interests:
Student centered learning, case-based learning, curriculum design and evaluation


Shelley Canning   RN, BSc, PDP, BSN, MSN
Position   Year 1 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   shelley.canning@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2503

Classroom teaching focus:
Aging, Foundational  Nursing Care, Nursing Professionalism, Research, Qualitative Research Methodologies, Supportive Pedagogy

Clinical teaching focus:
Extended Care, Year 1 Medical Consolidation

Professional interests:
Aging, Research, Student Achievement


Pamela Causton   RN, BSN, MN
Position   Year 2 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   pamela.causton@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2244

Classroom teaching focus:
Psychomotor skills, medical/surgical nursing concepts

Clinical teaching focus:
Surgical

Professional interests:
Nursing assessment, communication, leadership


Karen Davidson   RN, SCM, BScN, MSN
Position   Year 1 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   karen.davidson@ufv.ca
Phone :   604-792-0025, Ext. 2469

Classroom teaching focus:
Maternity, nursing concepts, psychomotor skills

Clinical teaching focus:

Maternity and Medicine

Professional interests:

Clinical teaching research, maternity nursing and International education


Samarjit Dhillon   RN, BSN, MSN
Position   Year 2 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   samarjit.dhillon@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2250

Classroom teaching focus:
Family nursing, medical and surgical nursing

Clinical teaching focus:
Surgery (adult)

Professional interests:
Student-teacher relationships in nursing, pain management and nurse-patient partnerships


Sheila Edwards  

RN, BSN, MSN

Position   Year 4 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   sheila.edwards@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2500

Classroom teaching focus:
Community health, pediatrics

Clinical teaching focus:

Pediatrics, Public Health

Professional interests:
Research in community health, immigrant nurses, international education


Sandra Flynn   RN, BScN, MEd
Position:   Year 4 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   sandra.flynn@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2518

Classroom teaching focus:
Community health

Clinical teaching focus:
Public Health, preceptorship practicum

Professional interests:
Program planning and evaluation, family planning and health education


Nancy Goad   RN, BScN, MEd
Position:   Nursing Program Coordinator
E-mail:   nancy.goad@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-702-2616

Professional interests:
Student success, leadership, and faculty development


 

Samantha Hampton   RN, BSN, MN, CHPC (C)
Position  

Year 3 & 4 Nursing Faculty Member

E-mail:   samantha.hampton@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2457

Classroom teaching focus:
Medical and palliative 

Clinical teaching focus:
Medical and palliative

Professional interests:
End-of-life care, home health care, advanced nursing practice


 

Lee-Anne Jackson   RN, BN
Position:   Year 2 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   lee-anne.jackson@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2831

Classroom teaching focus:
Health illness transitions, family nursing and psychomotor skills

Clinical teaching focus:
Pediatrics

Professional interests:
Neonatal and pediatric care, family-centred care, and nursing research


Sarah Johanson   RN, BSc Cancer & Palliative Care
Position   Year 3 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   sarah.johanson@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2264

Classroom teaching focus:
Palliative care/medical

Clinical teaching focus:
Palliative care/medical

Professional interests:
Oncology, haematology, and palliative care



Anne Kent   RN, BSN
Position   Year 2 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   anne.kent@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2258

Classroom teaching focus:
Health illness transitions, partnering with families

Clinical teaching focus:
Pediatrics

Professional interests:
Pediatric palliative care/hospice palliative care, pediatrics


 ‌‌

Deborah Larson   RN, BSN, MA
Position   Year 2 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   deborah.larson@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2248

Classroom teaching focus:
Medical/surgical nursing concepts, psychomotor skills

Clinical teaching focus:
Surgical

Professional interests:
Critical care, cardiology, nursing assessments


Kate McCulloch  

RN, BScN, MSN, CCHN(C)

Position

  Semester 7 Faculty Member
E-mail:   kate.mcculloch@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2401

Classroom teaching focus:
Community Health

Clinical teaching focus:
Public Health

Professional interests:
Aboriginal Health, Social Determinants of Health, Healthy Public Policy, and Maternal-Child Health


 

Rona Miller   RN, BSN, MSN
Position  

Year 3 Nursing Faculty Member

E-mail:   rona.miller@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2516

Classroom teaching focus:
Palliative care, multiple injuries, spousal abuse, immigration issues, psychomotor skills, research

Clinical teaching focus:
Medicine/palliative care, home care

Professional interests:
Palliative care, emergency nursing, research


Joanne Nelmes   RN, BSN, MN
Position   Year 2 Nursing Faculty Member

E-mail:

  joanne.nelmes@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2249

Classroom teaching focus:
Psychomotor skills, medical/surgical nursing concepts

Clinical teaching focus:
Surgical

Professional interests:
Collaborative nursing care, communication and mentorship


Adele Phillips   BBS, RN, BScN

Position

  Year 2 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   adele.phillips@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2406

Classroom teaching focus:
Psychomotor skills, medical/surgical nursing concepts

Clinical teaching focus:
Surgical

Professional interests:
Clinical Teaching Research, mentorship and pain management


     
Janine Roberts   RN, BSN
Position   Year 1 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   janine.roberts@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2252

Classroom teaching focus:

Clinical teaching:

Professional interests:



Cindy Schultz   RN, BSc (Cancer & Palliative Care Nursing)
Position   Year 1 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   cindy.schultz@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2234

Classroom teaching focus:
Teaching and learning life-span development

Clinical teaching:
ECU and first-year medical consolidation

Professional interests:
Infection control, health promotion, and working with at risk youth/young adults


Margaret (Maggie) Shamro   RN, BScN
Position   Year 3 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   margaret.shamro@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2260

Classroom teaching focus:
Mental Health, Partnerships, Nursing Theory

Clinical teaching:
Psychiatry, Residential Care

Professional interests:
Mental Health and Wellness, Therapeutic Communication, Mindfulness



Shellie Steidle   RN, BSN
Position   Year 3 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   shellie.steidle@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2203

Classroom teaching focus:
Ethics in health care, concepts in medical/palliative care

Clinical teaching focus:
Medical/palliative, home-care nursing

Professional interests:
Oncology, breast cancer, feminist theory, advanced nursing practice, nursing ethics



Paula Stubbings   RN, BSN, MN
Position   Year 3 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   paula.stubbings@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2235

Classroom teaching focus:
Palliative, medicine, home care

Clinical teaching focus:
Medical/home care/palliative

Professional interests:
Gerontology, research


Maggie Theron   RN, RPN, BN, PhD (DCur)
Position  

Semester 2 & 5 Faculty Instructor

E-mail:   maggie.theron@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2404

Classroom teaching focus:
Psychiatric nursing

Clinical teaching focus:
Maternity clinical, psychiatric nursing and fast track

Professional interests:
Professional and personal development, research


Guillermo Torres   RN, BSN

Position              Semester 3, 6 & 8 Faculty Instructor

Email:                 guillermo.torres@ufv.ca 

Phone:                604-792-0025, Ext. 2253

Classroom teaching focus:
Health transitions, nursing practice

Clinical teaching focus:
Medical/Pallliative

Professional interests:
Professional development in education and nursing practice


Marlene Upton  RN, BTN, MEd
 
Position           Year 1 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:             marlene.upton@ufv.ca
Phone:             604-792-0025, Ext. 2520

 Classroom teaching focus:
Maternity, growth and development, psychomotor skills

Clinical teaching focus:
Maternity, medicine

Professional interests:
Research in early home labor support


Elvira Warner   RN, BSN, MEd
Position   Semesters 3 & 8 Faculty Instructor
E-mail:   elvira.warner@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2257

Classroom teaching focus:
Pain management and chronic diseases

Clinical teaching focus:
Acute medicine and preceptorship

Professional interests:
Chronic illness experience, managing diabetes, hypertension and renal disease, current pain management concepts and engaging student learning


Lynne Wells   RN, BSN, MEd
Position   Year 3 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   lynne.wells@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2519

Classroom teaching focus:
Palliative care, complementary therapies, poverty/homelessness, psychomotor skills

Clinical teaching focus:
Palliative/medicine, homecare

Professional interests:
Research in women’s health, breast cancer, holistic health, palliative care



Dawna Williams   RN, BScN, MN, Emergency Nursing
Position   Year 3 Nursing Faculty Member
E-mail:   dawna.williams@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext. 2262

 Classroom teaching focus:
Research, multiple transitions

Clinical Teaching:
Medicine/surgical and homecare

Professional interests:
Emergency medicine, cardiology, research, and distance education


Nursing Lab Coordinators:

 ‌

Arlene Haley   RN, BSN
Position   Nursing Lab Coordinator

E-mail:

  arlene.haley@ufv.ca
Phone:   604-792-0025, Ext 2376

Plans nursing laboratory set-ups with nursing instructors.
Sets up nursing labs and equipment.
Supervises students in lab practice sessions and remedial labs.


 ‌

Charlene Cranley RN, BSN

Position:  Nursing Lab Coordinator

Email:      charlene.cranley@ufv.ca

Phone:     604-795-2833

Plans nursing laboratory set-ups with nursing instructors.
Sets up nursing labs and equipment.
Supervises students in lab practice sessions and remedial labs. 

Twitter Facebook Linkedin Flikr UFV on Google+ YouTube goUFV