UFV offers a number of awards specifically for History students. There is much variety! 

  • Some awards result from faculty nominations and do not require student applications.
  • Some awards are administered internally and require students to apply.
  • Other awards are administered externally, with application processes that fall outside of UFV. 

While we recognize that the semester gets busy and time gets tight, do consider applying for awards! Not only is it wonderful to receive a few accolades in recognition of your achievement and hard work, but awards are also great things to list on a resume.  If you have any questions about the awards administered by UFV, please contact the History department assistant at 604.557.4075. 

Faculty-Nominated Awards

History Department Student Award

Award: $100 and a book

          2017-18: Pamela Hunt

          2016-17: Brayden Hirsch

          2015-16: Tasha Guenther


Jack Gaston Annual History Department Award

Award:  $100 and a book


          2017-18: Timothy Slaa

          2016-17: Jared de Bruin          

          2015-16: Dana Mandeville          

          2014-15: David Seymour

          2013-14: Paul Brammer

          2012-13: Jordan Williams 

          2011-12: Adam Schilt

          2010-11: Tyler Klassen

          2009-10: Vanessa Ayley

          2008-09: Grace Rempel


Bob Smith Annual History Department Award

Award:  $100 and a book


          2017-18: Melissa Wing

          2016-17: Kelly Miles          

          2015-16: Jared de Bruin

          2014-15: Colin Nicholl     

          2013-14: Maryam Purtis

          2012-13: Kailey Erickson

          2011-12: Jordan Williams

          2010-11: Paul Esau

          2009-10: Paul Brammer


Undergraduate Research Excellence Award

Award:  Up to $1000


          2018: Kelly Miles

          2017: Dani Summer          

          2016: Dana Mandeville          

          2013: Sean Evans

          2012: Michael Schmidt

          2011: Kelsey Siemens

          2010: Carley Baxter

          2009: Brandon Langhjelm

          2008: Anjuli Zukowski and James Inglis


Dr. Michael and Edith Guggenheim Holocaust Memorial Annual Scholarship

Award:  $720


         2018: Raveena Walia

         2017: Lauren Yaciw         

         2015: Greg Watkins          

         2013: Joseph Waugh

Internal Awards: Student Application and/or Faculty Nomination

Constance Barber Newby Memorial History Scholarship

Award: $300

          2012: Matilda Tabert

          2011: Michael Schmidt

          2010: Christopher Bonshor

          2009: Tanya Pluhowy

          2008: Chelsea Auffray 

          2007: Sheryl Appleby

The Jan den Boesterd Memorial Scholarship is available to a UFV History major completing his/her third year of studies. Preference is given to students from the Fraser Valley who have a particular interest in either Canadian, British, or European History.

Award: $200


          2012: Laura Born

          2011: Michael Schmidt

          2009: Tyler Klassen

          2008: Ronald Hughes

          2007: Allison Kilgannon 


Margaret Ormsby Prize 

Award: $300

‌          2018: Brielle Jacobson

External Awards and Scholarships 

Burnaby Historical Society Scholarship 

Award: $1000


Eugene A. Forsey Prize in Canadian Labour and Working Class History 

Award: $250


B.C. Historical Federation Scholarship - W. Kaye Lamb Essay Scholarship 

Award: $750 for a first or second year paper and $1000 for a third or fourth year paper


Michael Fellman Award 

Award: $1000



Twitter Facebook Linkedin Flikr UFV on Google+ YouTube goUFV