## Research Advisory Council 2023-24



Faculty Area	Attending Representative	Alternate
VOTING MEMBERS		
Arts - Humanities		
Arts - Humanities	Paul Fontaine	Christine Elsey
Arts - Social Sciences	Shawn Geniole	Amanda McCormick
Arts - Social Sciences	Albert Kim	Noah Schwartz
Science	Mariano Mapili	
Science	Sandra Gillespie	
Health Sciences	Cynthia Thomson	
Health Sciences	Luisa Giles	
Business & Computing	Opeyemi Adesina	
Business & Computing	Masud Khawaja	
Education, Community and Human Development	Rita Dhungel	
Education, Community and Human Development	Barnabe Assogba	Karun Karki
Applied and Technical Studies		
Applied and Technical Studies	Trevor Beugeling	
University Librarian or designate	Martin Warkentin	
·		
Chair or Vice-Chair of the UFV Human Research Ethics Board	Gillian Hatfield (Chair)	
CENTRES & LABS - voting members		
Food and Agriculture Institute	Lenore Newman	
South Asian Studies Institute	Satwinder Bains	
Community Health and Social Innovation Hub	Martha Dow	
Esposito Family Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship	Jon Thomas	
Peace and Reconciliation Centre	Keith Carlson	
Centre for Public Safety and Criminal Justice	Irwin Cohen	
Centre for Education and Research on Aging	Shelley Canning	
Centre for Philosophy for Children	Anastasia Anderson	
Centre for Global Development	Geetanjali Gill	
Luminescence Dating Lab	Olav Lian	
Centre for High Pressure Research/Molecular Modeling Lab	Jacob Spooner	
RESEARCH CHAIRS - voting members		
CRC - Indigenous & Community Engaged History	Keith Carlson	
CRC - Health and Community	Cindy Jardine	
CRC - Berry Horticulture	Lauren Erland	
UFV Research Chair in Food and Agriculture Innovation	Lenore Newman	
BC Regional Chair - Canada India Partnership Development	Jon Thomas	
NON VOTING		Assistants
AVP Research & Graduate Studies	Garry Fehr	Tracy Morrison
Director, Research Services & Industry Engagement	Ash Lalani	Jasleen Rakkar
Assistant, Research & Graduate Studies	Jasleen Rakkar	Recorder
AVP, Teaching & Learning (Designate)	Victoria Surtees	Ruby Ord
Provost & Vice President or designate	Michael Hitch	Janice Nagtegaal
Dean, Faculty of Education, Community & Human Development	Allyson Jule	Kim Daley
Associate Dean, College of Arts	Tetsuomi Anzai	,
Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences	Lara Duke	Nikki Martyn/Kandiss Wiens
Dean, Faculty of Business & Computing	Chris Schinckus	Nipuni Jayetileke
Dean, Faculty of Science	Michael Hitch	Janice Nagtegaal
Dean, Faculty of Applied & Technical Studies	Teresa Kisilevich	Marlie Murphy
,,,,		
Meetings are UFV Week 3, Thursdays, 1:30 – 3:30 pm		
Quorum: >50% with a minimum of 10 voting members		