

Senate Awards and Honours Committee Terms of Reference

RESPONSIBILITIES

- 1. The Senate Honours and Awards Committee advises Senate on the criteria for award application, adjudication, and decision, ensuring that the criteria used to decide on awards and honours is clear, demonstrable, and measurable.
- 2. The central responsibilities of the SAHC are to advise Senate on the criteria and procedures for:
 - a. Academic awards, honorary recognition, and other awards as directed by Senate;
 - b. Awards stipulated in the Board policy on Academic Excellence Awards (BRP 235.03).

The Senate Awards and Honours Committee will:

- 3. Oversee the procedures for academic awards, including academic excellence awards, honorary recognition, and other awards, as directed by Senate.
- 4. Consult with relevant Senate committees and/or other groups as needed and appropriate for any given award, including the UFV Student Awards Committee.
- 5. Ensure the appropriate expertise and/or representation is in place for the award administration and decision-making process.
- 6. From time to time, review the UFV forms of recognition and make recommendations to Senate and to the Board for changes regarding awards.
- 7. Provide an annual written report to Senate.
- 8. Perform other duties, as defined by Senate.
- 9. Meet as needed, with a minimum of three meetings per year.
- 10. Conduct an annual review of its terms of reference and composition for approval by Senate.

COMPOSITION

Chair

To be elected annually from the membership for a one-year term, unless directed otherwise by Senate

Vice Chair

A voting member to be elected annually from the membership for a one-year term

Voting Members

- Provost & Vice-President, Academic (or designate) (ex officio)
- Five faculty members, approved by Senate, at least one of whom shall be a member of Senate*

^{*} Normally, there shall be at least one member from each of the faculties, selected to ensure that the composition of the committee reflects the diversity of disciplines at the university.

- One dean or associate dean approved by Senate
- One staff approved by Senate
- Two students, one of whom shall be a senator
- Vice President, Students (or designate) (ex officio)

Non-Voting Member

University Secretary (ex officio)

Administrative Support

Secretariat Office