Call for nominations!

Teaching Excellence Award 

Ian Affleck TEA winner

Has a UFV faculty member inspired you?

The Board of Governors and the Senate recognize academic excellence in teaching, research, and other scholarly activities that support student learning and enriches educational programs at UFV.

The Teaching Excellence Award was first given in 2000 and, is awarded annually to a UFV faculty member or lab instructor in recognition of teaching excellence.  

Those eligible for nomination include all UFV faculty and lab instructors who have completed two years of instruction, or sessional instructors who have completed the equivalent time. 

Nominations will be accepted from faculty, students, alumni, and staff. 

Selection criteria include mentorship, attention to student learning in the instructional environment and in coursework, respect for students, integration of scholarship, and professional activity.

Deadline for nominations is January 19, 2018

For more information, contact the Assistant to the Senate at or 604-504-7441 ext 6314

Past recipients include Ian Affleck, Martha Dow, Jan Lashbrook Green, Linda Pardy, Sheryl MacMath, Chris Bertram, Glen Baier, Sven VandeWetering, Adrienne Chan, Darryl Plecas, Wendy Burton, George McGuire, Elvira Warner, George Melzer, Greg Anderson, and Katherine Watson.

Legacy Gallery

View our Legacy Gallery of previous winners.


What’s brewing in your classroom?

Meet with Dr. Maureen Wideman to discuss your ideas and challenges. She can help you reach your teaching goals and develop great learning experiences for students.

Book a meeting now

UFV Current Newsroom Feed
YouTube goUFV Linkedin Facebook Twitter Flikr Signup for eNews!