Visual Arts

Scholarships & awards

There are a variety of scholarships and awards available to incoming and continuing Visual Arts students:

Past recipients

Art History Annual Scholarship

  • 1999 David Saito
  • 2000 Jaime Dehnke
  • 2001 Erin Armstrong
  • 2002 Joseph Blessin
  • 2003 Catherine Adamson
  • 2004 Peggy Bradshaw
  • 2005 Kerri Leeper
  • 2006 Tara Akins
  • 2007 Megan Arundel
  • 2008 Fiona Moes
  • 2009 Fiona Moes
  • 2010 Dian Grant
  • 2011 Marin Beck
  • 2012 David Seymour
  • 2013 Candice Okada
  • 2014 Terrill Smith

Writing Across the Curriculum Competition

Art History students who have received writing prizes:

  • 1997  Kathy Davis - lower level research category.
  • 1998  Sandi Dressler "Toward a Future Hope: An Analysis of Augustus Egg's Past and Present" - critical analysis lower level category
  • 2002  Adam Neufeld "Photography and its Consequences"- critical analysis lower level and Joseph Blessin "The Pre-Oedipal M/other and Child and the Search for the Female Phallus: Feminine Absence, Psychoanalysis and Art Through the Ages" - critical analysis
  • 2003  Janet Smith "Henry Fuseli: A Study of the Sublime" - critical analysis
  • 2004  Megan Arundel  "The Female Nude, the Male Gaze and Artemesia Gentilechi's Susanna and the Elders" - critical analysis
  • 2005  Kelsey Wilson "Beyond Naturalism: Salvador Dali's Dreamworld" - First Year Research Informative category
  • 2014 David Seymour, "Undoing the Colonial Gaze: Adrian Stimson, Kent Monkman and 'Two-Spirit' Representation in Indigenous Art."-Explorations of Marginality category.

For more information on the Writing Across the Curriculum Competition, please contact the Academic Success Centre.

"My time spent in the in the Visual Arts Dept. at UFV was the most exciting and rewarding educational experience of my life. The program was engaging, challenging, and most importantly inspiring".

  • – Eduardo Dioses
  •    BFA Alumni
Read more

Contact Us