Information Technology Services

User Guide Remote Desktop Connection

The remote desktop feature on your computer allows you to control your office computer from another office or from home. Remote Desktop allows you to use the applications on your office computer, and access your data without being in your office.

You'll want to follow these instructions on your laptop and/or home computer, not on the on-campus desktop computer!.

There is a risk that technologies that allow you to access your desktop may be exploited by others. Be careful to properly secure your desktop to minimize this risk.

Note: You will need to request IT Services to setup & configure your remote desktop connection prior to using it from home or another location. Please speak with your Manager to begin this request. 


Remote Desktop Connection User Guide


Learn How To Connect Video

Quick how-to video demonstrating how to connect via Remote Desktop.

Frequently Asked Questions

We suggest when you're finished, you save your work and logout of the work computer just as you normally would by clicking the 'Start' button selecting the ‘person’ icon and then selecting 'Sign out'.


If you use the blue bar and click the close button, you will remain logged into your work computer with all of your programs, documents, etc open -just like when you 'lock' your work computer.


Please do not power off/shut down the work computer. This can only be done by clicking the ‘Start’ menu and selecting ‘Shut down’. Contact service desk with the work computer ID if you do.


When you connect you will have 2 desktops to manage. One will be your home computer (desktop) and one will be the work computer (desktop). The trick is to know which one you're working in. You can move your mouse to the top center of your screen, and if a blue bar appears, you are on your work desktop. If it doesn't, you are likely on your home desktop.


You can use this bar to minimize or close your work desktop. If minimized, this icon will be on your taskbar which you can click to go back to full screen.


You may get a prompt asking for another user to login while you’re working. This is someone trying to access this work computer remotely and you can choose to allow or deny the request.  This other person cannot see your screen and are using/viewing their own account.  If you do not sign out when you’re finished, the other person signing in will be prompted to ‘ask your permission’ in order to sign in. The other person can still sign in by clicking ‘yes’ to the prompt and waiting 30 seconds, but they may interrupt or close what you had been working on.


At the remote desktop connection screen, before selecting Connect, select Show Options.  On the Display tab, click the checkbox for Use all my monitors for the remote session. 


At the remote desktop connection screen, before selecting Connect, select Show Options.  On the Display tab, click the checkbox for Display the connection bar when I use full screen. It displays a blue bar at the top of your work desktop when your mouse hovers over it. This allows you to close or minimize your work desktop and see your home desktop again.


At the remote desktop connection screen, before selecting Connect, select Show Options.  On the Local Resources tab, under Keyboard, select Only when using the full screen from the drop down menu.  The shortcuts will only work when your work desktop is full screen. Otherwise the shortcuts will apply to your home desktop.


At the remote desktop connection screen, before selecting Connect, select Show Options.  On the Local Resources tab, under Local devices and resources check Printers.  This is not recommended but is possible if required. 


At the remote desktop connection screen, before selecting Connect, select Show Options.  On the Local Resources tab, under Local devices and resources check Clipboard.  This is not recommended but is possible if required. 


If you receive a message notifying you the identity of the remote computer cannot be verified, select YES.  Your setting in the Advanced tab of the Remote Desktop Connection screen are set to warn you about server authentication. 


Contact Us