Betty Urquhart Community Service Award

2015/2016 Award Recipient

Elizabeth Melnick, Elizabeth's Wildife Centre

Elizabeth Melnick

Some people say volunteering is for the birds — as in it’s not worth doing. But for Elizabeth Melnick, volunteering is literally for the thousands of birds and other wild animals that she and her helpers have saved and attempt to rehabilitated over the years. Read more

Click here for a list of past award recipients.

About the Betty Urquhart Award

  Betty Urquhart

Betty Urquhart was one of the first employees of the university and believed strongly in volunteering and giving back to the community. While Betty passed away in 1995, UFV keeps her memory alive by honouring a person or group exemplifying her commitment to life-long learning and community.

The award is presented as part of the university’s annual convocation ceremony in June. Recognizing community volunteers at convocation provides inspiration for students to contribute and give back to their community. This award is part of UFV’s continuing commitment to changing lives and building community. A call for nominations goes out each spring.

Nomination Guidelines

 1 The award is given for a specific project or series of projects.
 2 Nominations may be made to the Board of Governors by any individual or group in the University region. Nominations should include a statement of the reasons for the nomination.
 3 The award will take the form of a certificate publicly presented at an appropriate university event.
 4 Names of award recipients and the reasons for the award will be displayed on campus and on the UFV website.
 5 Normally one but no more than two such awards will be presented in any year.
 6 Award-winning projects must meet the following criteria:

a) The project must have had a significant impact on the community or communities.

b) The recipient(s) of the award must have played a major role in the planning and implementation of the project.

c) The project must demonstrate UFV’s commitment to enhancing the quality of life of its communities.

d) This project must have been undertaken at least partially as a volunteer endeavour, and not as part of anyone’s salaried or contractual obligations.

e) The project must have taken place at least partially during the immediately preceding twelve-month period.



Nomination form available here:

» ‌Betty Urquhart Nomination Form - Word

» ‌Betty Urquhart Nomination Form - PDF

Completed nomination forms should be submitted to:

Office of the Board of Governors
University of the Fraser Valley, Abbotsford campus
33844 King Road, Abbotsford, BC   V2S 7M8
604-702-2614  (Direct Tel) 
604-853-7341  (Fax) 

Past Recipients

2015/2016 Elizabeth Melnick, Elizabeth's Wildlife Centre
~ for her extraordinary contribution and impact in the Fraser Valley region, through her tireless work to rehabilitate wildlife, and increase awareness, understanding, compassion for and knowledge of wildlife.

 The Crystal Gala Foundation
 for their fundraising and promotional work supporting breast health and those afflicted with breast cancer.

2013/2014 Kusum Soni
for her continued work, dedication and programming at Mission Community Services.
2012/2013 1. Brittany Clough
for her work with the "Beautiful, You" project.
2. Veronica Back
for her work with the "Street Hope: Mission OutReach / Lunch and Dinner Program" project.
2011/2012 1. Daphne Clegg and Pat Fuller
~ For their work at Chilliwack's Pacific Riding for Developing Abilities giving therapeutic riding lessons for disabled children.
2. Sandy Balascak and students of the Agassiz Centre for Education "CHOICE" program
~ for their project "When Bad Kids Go Good".
2010/2011 1. Dr. Elizabeth Watt
~ For her work with the Abbotsford Youth Health Centre.
2. Ms. Patricia Murakami
~ For her work with the Tillicum Activity Centre (Hope Association for Community Living).
2009/2010 Yarrow Volunteer Society
~ For the work that this group of dedicated volunteers does in helping to ensure that Yarrow remains a vibrant and caring community.


Milt Walker
~ For his dedication to this community most recently though his involvement in the Reach Gallery Museum project.


Pat and Peggy Wiens
~ Youth Lunchin in Hope.


Tara Scheirer
~ For her project, The Warm Zone.


Heather Stewin
~ For her project, Story Time in the Park.


Elise Goerzen
~ For her extensive contribution to Sardis Doorway. 


Elder College Chilliwack
~ For its dedication to lifelong learning. 


1. Ann Dyble
~ For her contribution to the Community Women's Centre at UCFV.
2. Gwen Point
~ For her contribution to the 11th Annual Pow Wow. 


Ruth Altendorf
~ For her work with the Harrison Hot Springs Recreation Commission.  


Cathy Elliot
~ For her role in establishing the East Chilliwack Family Place. 

1999/2000 Shirley Dargartz
~ For her volunteer service to the Chilliwack Community. 
1998/1999 1. Organizing Committee Operation Renose Abbotsford
2. Marion Robinson
~ Mission Community Justice Council. 
1997/1998 Harrison Festival of the Arts 
1996/1997 1. Margaret Alfrey, Doreen Derkach, D. Neumann, Freida Stevens, and Pam Wilson
~ Abbotsford Per Support for Seniors Project.
2. Family Literacy Council
~ Chilliwack Families in Motion project. 
1995/1996 Glen Flett
~ For his work with the Partners in Learning Project. 
1992/1993 1. Mary Uslick
~ Coqueleetza Elder.
2. Fred Clarke
~ The Clarke Group.
1991/1992 Mel Folkman and John Smith
~ For their work with the Chilliwack Career Fair. 
Twitter Facebook Linkedin Flikr UFV on Google+ YouTube goUFV