S‌tudent Research Day

Thursday, April 5, 2018

Student Micro Lectures and Poster Presentations

UFV’s Student Research Day -

Thursday, April 5

11:30 – 12:30 pm Micro-lectures

12:20 – 2:30 pm   Poster Presentations


11:30 am – Micro lectures in the Spirit Bear Cafe, A219.

Take the stage and share your research experiences in a high-speed 2-minute lecture. UFV Students only.

How do I register for the Micro-Lectures? Fill out the online ‌registration form ‌by March 26, 2018.

Poster Presentations and Judging

10 am – 12:30 pm - Poster Presentation Registration and Free Pizza Lunch for poster presenters only, in F124 and F125 on the Abbotsford campus.

12:30 – 2:30 pm - Poster Presentation in F124 and F125.

Present your research project on a poster in a lively interactive session. Participants compete for scholarship awards between $150-200.

3:00 pm - Awards Ceremony in F124.

Prizes are awarded to UFV students for Student Research Day.

How do I register for the Poster Presentation? Fill out the online ‌registration form by March 26, 2018. If you have any questions please email kelly.tracey@ufv.ca or visit us in the Research Office located in G290, on the second floor of the library on the Abbotsford Campus.

Who can participate? Students who conduct research under the supervision of a UFV faculty member may take part in the Micro Lecture, Poster Presentation, or both! All faculties and disciplines are welcome.

What else do I need to know? Detailed participant instructions the for micro-lectures, poster presentations, and poster guidelines

Poster workshop for students - facilitated by Dr. Michelle Riedlinger   
March 21, 2018
10:00 - 11:30 am
A225, Abbotsford campus                                                                                                           

UFV Research Services will cover the cost of posters printed in UFV Print Services. However, students must email the Printroom by Monday March 26, 2018 to be eligible for free printing.


S‌tudent Research Day 2017 

‌Student Micro Lectures

Student Poster Presentations: Click here to view photos of the event

Student Poster Presentation Winners:

President's Award
Michael Gaultier
Biology - Supervisor Jonathan Hughes
Title: Inferring bog hydrology and soil chemistry using testate amoebae in the Fraser Lowland, British Columbia
Provost & Vice-President, Academic
Tessa Webb
Biology - Supervisor Stephen Thomas
Title: Towards Cloning and Sequence Analysis of the alkB gene from Gordonia otitidis
Associate Vice-President, Research, Engagement & Graduate Studies
Sarah Speight
Geography - Supervisor Michelle Rhodes
Title: Evaluating Food Donation Quality in the Fraser Valley
Vice-President, Students
Kurtis Leffers
Biology - Supervisor Nathan Bialas
Title: Investigating Lifespan and Healthspan Effects of Canada-Grown Lonicera caerulea on C elegans
Vice-Provost and Vice-President, Academic
Darryl Wilson
Chemistry - Supervisor Noham Weinberg
Title: Molecular Dynamics Calculations of High-Pressure Vibration Spectra
Dean, College of Arts - Social Sciences
Alana Strangway
Geography - Supervisor Steven Marsh
Title: Geochemistry Report for Clayburn Creek Watershed in Abbotsford, BC
Dean, College of Arts - Humanities
Sarah Gabor-Martinez
Social, Cutlural and Media Studies - Supervisor Nicola Mooney
Title: The Delicate Equilibrium of Corporate and Public Art: A Visual Ethnography of Granville Island
Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences
Jason Soolaman
Kinesiology - Supervisors Michael Gaetz and Jason Brandenburg
Title: The Cognitive and Physical Consequences of Pre-Competition Rapid Weight Loss (Weight Cutting) in Mixed Martial Arts Athletes
Dean, Faculty of Science
Nikola Trotezuk, Dennis Schimann, Alex Vogt, Perrin Waldock - Group
Physics/ Engineering - Supervisor Lin Long
Title: Autonomous collision avoidance on a quadcopter
Dean, Faculty of Professional Studies
Bronwen Kenyon, Kyle Sethi, Ryan Gienger - Group
Business - Supervisors David Dobson and Michael Maschek
Title: Sex at University

‌‌‌‌‌‌‌‌‌‌2016 Student Research Day | April 07

Student MicrolecturesClick here to view the video.

Participants and Project Titles - Click here to view the full list.

Photos on FlickrClick here to view photos of the day.

Poster Award Winners

Name: Jessica Warkentin
Faculty Supervisor(s): Dr. Leah Douglas
Award: Faculty of Professional Studies Dean Award $150
Jessica Warkentin Profile


Name: Spencer Justice
Faculty Supervisor(s): Dr. Wayne Podrouzek
Award: Provost and Vice President Academic Award $200
Spencer Justice Profil

Name: Vivienne Beard
Faculty Supervisor(s): Dr. James Bedard
Award: Associate VP Research, Engagement, & Graduate Studies Award $150
Vivienne Beard Profile

Name: Brad Watson
Faculty Supervisors: Dr. Kathy Keiver & Dr. Alison Prichard-Orr
Award: Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences Award $150


Name: Audrey Faber
Faculty Supervisor: Dr. Steven Marsh
Award: Dean, College of Arts, Social Science Award $150

Name: Danielle McEwan
Faculty Supervisor: Dr. Prabhjot Parmar
Award: Dean, College of Arts, Humanities Award $150

Name: Hailey Davenport
Faculty Supervisor: Dr. Lesley Jessiman
Award: Vice Provost and Vie-President, Academic $150

Name(s): Richelle Acreman and Katherine Flach
Faculty Supervisor: Dr. Allan Arndt
Award: Dean, Faculty of Science Award $150

Name: Lena Yacyshen
Faculty Supervisor: Dr. Grace Tsurumaru
Award: Vice Provost and Vice-Preseident, Academic Award $150

Name: Candice Okada (no photo)
Faculty Supervisor: Dr. Grace Tsurumaru
Award: Dean, College of Arts, Humanities $150

Name: Nick Toews (no photo)
Faculty Supervisor: Dr. Andrea Hughes
Award: Dean, College of Arts, Social Science Award $150

Name: Manjot Pandher, Delaney Minor and Seth Stenner (no photo)
Faculty Supervisor: David Dobson
Award: Dean, Faculty of Professional Studies Award $150
Name: Taylor Mutis (no photo)
Faculty Supervisor: Dr. Kathy Keiver & Dr. Alison Pritchard-Orr
Award: Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences Award $150
Taylor Mutis Profile

2015 Student Research Day Prize Recipients

Photos on flickr

Twitter Facebook Linkedin Flikr UFV on Google+ YouTube goUFV