The Kuldip Gill Writing Fellowship
Writer in Residence

Apply to UFV's Writer in Residence Program

The Writer in Residence term lasts for eleven weeks, between January and April each year. The yearly application deadline is August 15. Candidates should have a substantial publishing record, including two books or the equivalent with a recognized publisher.

Our program has been careful to balance the writer's public engagement with his or her own writing practice. Along with UFV's commitment to high quality, workshop-based writing classes, the Writer in Residence program is one of the ways that the university seeks to foster the development of contemporary Canadian writing. Writers will receive dedicated time to work on their own writing projects, in addition to their outreach and mentorship roles.  The honorarium for 2019 is $14,000.

Candidates interested in applying for the position of Writer in Residence should forward a cover letter, CV, and sample of current writing project in a single Word document to:

English Department, University of the Fraser Valley

The yearly application deadline is August 15.

Activities of the Writer in Residence

The Writer in Residence is a member of the university community and is involved in a number of activities:

  • pursues his or her own writing projects
  • keeps office hours two days a week for consultation with members of the University and Fraser Valley community
  • provides input on programming for the Fraser Valley Literary Festival, and selection of keynote speaker(s)
  • participates in two readings or workshops at the university, open to those associated with the university as well as the community at large
  • visits classes in creative writing and literature, as well as other disciplines as invited, but does not augment department teaching staff
  • writes the foreword for Louden Singletree magazine
  • writes posts for the English Department's blog, Write of Passage


Writer in Residence Committee

The Writer in Residence Committee has been established by the English Department to work in consultation with the resident writer to design and coordinate his or her schedule of duties and activities. Committee members include Andrea MacPherson, Trevor Carolan, Rajnish Dhawan, Michelle Superle, and Helene Littmann.

Past Writers in Residence

2017 Jordan Abel

2016 Jen Sookfong Lee

2015 Emily Pohl-Weary

2014 Daniella Elza

2013 Rex Weyler

2012 Anosh Irani

2011 Elizabeth Bachinsky

2009 Jaspreet Singh

2008 Richard Van Camp

2007 Kuldip Gill


Twitter Facebook Linkedin Flikr UFV on Google+ YouTube goUFV