/ Skip to main content

About UFV

UFV History

View UFV's historical photo collection on Flickr and the UFV Timeline.

1974 - 1975

» Fraser Valley College (FVC) founded


» Over 2300 students attending FVC in Chilliwack, Abbotsford, Mission, Hope and Agassiz


» FVC Chilliwack campus Trades programming established


» FVC establishes permanent campus in Abbotsford


» FVC opens Agriculture Centre in Chilliwack


» Fraser Valley College gains university-college status and becomes University College of the Fraser Valley (UCFV)


» UCFV offers its first Baccalaureate degrees
» UCFV Health Sciences Centre opens in Chilliwack


» UCFV Heritage Park Centre campus opens in Mission
» UCFV and Coastal Aviation (CPA) launch aviation degree


» Founding of UCFV Alumni Association


» UCFV awarded Federal Tier 1 Canadian Research Chair in Aboriginal Studies


» Solicitor General establishes UCFV Research Chair in Criminal Justice


» Over 11,000 students attending UCFV
» UCFV Cascades basketball and soccer teams enter CIS league
» Centre for Indo-Canadian Studies opens
» First BBA cohort begins study in Chandigarh, India


» First master’s degrees awarded
» Launch of BBA (Trades Management) and Teacher Education program
» Appointment of BC Regional Innovation Chair on Canada-India Business and Economic
» Baker House, UCFV’s new on-campus student residence, welcomes first students
» Trades and Technology Centre opens at Canada Education Park campus


» UCFV becomes the University of the Fraser Valley and installs first Chancellor


» Opened a renovated $20-million classroom block on Abbotsford campus featuring business and visual arts wings
» Launched the Centre for Social Research and the Global Development Institute


» Began construction on new learning block on the Chilliwack campus at Canada Education Park
» Introduced new graduate certificate programs


» UFV grows to serve approximately 15,000 students, including 800 international students
» UFV’s economic impact to Fraser Valley grows to at least half a billion
» Launched Master of Social Work Program
» UFV awarded second Canada Research Chair in Food Security and the Environment


» Developed UFV institutional learning outcomes, with input from students, staff, faculty and the community
» Opened the $44-million, 150,000 square-foot reonvated building at the Canada Education Park, Chilliwack campus, and moved most of the programs from the yale Road campus to this new location
» Opened UFV's Clearbrook centre location in the heart of Abbotsford's civic square
» Hosted a national conference on Indigenizing the Academy, held at the CEP Aboriginal gathering place


» UFV Cascades women’s volleyball and men’s and women’s golf win national championships
» UFV and UFV Student Union Society launch Campus Connector Shuttle Bus service between Abbotsford and Chilliwack


» UFV celebrates 40th anniversary on April 4
» UFV opens Agriculture Centre of Excellence at Chilliwack campus at Canada Education Park
» UFV opens Five Corners location in downtown Chilliwack
» Students receive co-curricular record, a second transcript validating learning outside the classroom
» UFV publishes first Strategic Enrolment Management Plan


» UFV installs second Chancellor, Dr. Gwen Point, former Chatelaine of BC and member of the Skowkale First Nation
» UFV is named one of BC's Top Employers
» Student Union Building opens in Abbotsford
» UFV 2025: A Vision for our Future is published
» Inaugural UFV Town & Gown gala fundraiser held


» UFV Chandigarh, India campus celebrates 10th anniversary
» UFV alumni grow to 35,000, and Alumni Association establishes chapter in Chandigarh, India


» UFV unveils official Coat of Arms, with Halq'eméylem motto
» UFV's Centre for Indo-Canadian Studies celebrates 10th anniversary and announces new name: South Asian Studies Institute


Dr. Larry Blake, 1974–1979

Dr. Barry Moore, 1979–1987

Dr. Peter Jones, 1987–1997

Dr. Harold A. (Skip) Bassford, 1998–2009

Dr. Mark Evered, 2009–2017

Jackie Hogan, 2017–2018 (interim)

Dr. Joanne MacLean, 2018–present

Board Chairs

Doug Hamilton, 1974–1979

Betty Meagher, 1979–1982

Ross Belsher, 1982–1984

Bill Harris, 1984–1987

John Wiens, 1987–1990

Brian Minter, 1990–1994

Dr. Noel Hall, 1994–1999

Phyllis Stenson, 1999–2002

Rob Nicklom, 2002–2008

Rod Thomson, 2008–2011

Larry Stinson, 2011–2013

Barry Delaney, 2013–2016

John C. Pankratz, 2016–2019

Justin P. Goodrich, 2019–March 2020

Nash Gill, March 2020–July 2020 (interim)

John C. Pankratz, 2020–present

Contact Us