Return to campus — information and updates »

Human Resources

Collective bargaining

The Collective Agreement‌ is a contract that has been negotiated through collective bargaining between the Faculty and Staff Association (FSA) and UFV. This agreement defines the employment terms and conditions for unionized faculty and staff at UFV, as well as the rights, privileges, and duties of the union, employer, and employees.

Bargaining information

The collective agreement between the Faculty and Staff Association (FSA) representing the faculty and staff at all campus locations and the University expired on March 31, 2019. The parties will commence bargaining for a renewed Collective Agreement on February 21, 2020.

UFV works with the Post-Secondary Employers Association (PSEA) to ensure that the negotiated agreement is aligned with the Sustainable Services Mandate. The Sustainable Services Negotiating Mandate applies to all public sector employers with unionized employees whose collective agreements expire on or after Dec. 31, 2018.

  • The Sustainable Services Negotiating Mandate is about improving the delivery of services for people in B.C., and balancing the need for fair and reasonable wage increases with outcomes that are affordable and managed within the fiscal plan.
  • The Mandate is designed to support government’s core priorities and enhance and modernize the delivery of services that British Columbians rely on.
  • It ensures the fiscal sustainability of our province while providing fair compensation.

Read about this mandate, and past bargaining mandates, at the provincial government’s Public Sector Bargaining Mandates and Agreements page.

Upcoming HR events

Contact Us